DNR to lift burning restrictions

From the Minnesota DNR

The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources will lift burning restrictions in 13 Minnesota counties beginning at 8 a.m. Friday, April 27. The DNR is lifting restrictions in areas where green-up is occurring and wildfire conditions are easing.

The following counties will be removed from burning restrictions April 27: Anoka, Benton, Chisago, Dakota, Douglas, Hennepin, Isanti, Pope, Ramsey, Stearns, Sherburne, Washington and Wright counties.

Although the state burning restrictions are lifted in these counties, local areas, counties or municipalities may have specific regulations or restrictions that affect burning operations. People should check with local authorities to obtain proper permits before conducting any open burning.

DNR officials advise anyone conducting burning to keep their burn piles small, have a water supply nearby and stay with the fire until it is completely out. If the fire escapes, the homeowner is responsible for the damage and suppression costs.

Burning permits are available through state and federal forestry offices, from local fire wardens, or online for $5 fee per calendar year at webapps1.dnr.state.mn.us/burning_permits/. Online permits need to be activated on the day of the burn.

Additional information regarding burning restrictions can be found on the DNR’s website at www.dnr.state.mn.us/forestry/fire.

up arrow
Don't Miss A Thing!

Our news stories are now available through email. Simply enter your email address below and click “Subscribe” to see the new stories every day.