Rinke is NSC Champ: Viking runners achieve personal records

Hayley Huset placed 22nd out of 70 competitors at last week’s North Suburban Conference Cross Country Championship. Photo by Victoria Dahlin

Rhianna Rinke took the North Suburban Conference Cross Country Championship, while the girls team not only placed third out of 10 teams, but earned All-Conference Academic honors as well.

Rinke came in first out of 70 competitors with a time of 14:52.7 in the 4000m (2.5 mile) conference championship run held Oct. 16 at Ponds Golf Course in St. Francis.

Casey Hovland placed 12th, Haley Huset 22nd, Cassidy White 26th, Alyssa Ramberg 30th, Claire Schraufnagel 38th and Laura Dolezalek 39th.

The boys team finished eighth out of 10 teams in the 5000m (3.1 mile) race.

Zachary Peno was the first Viking to cross the finish line coming in 37th out of 76 runners with a time a 18:04.5. Kyle Crowell was 38th, Ean Charpentier 39th, Jake Petrik 44th, Josh Petrik 345th, Alex Fitcha 56th and Kyle Granger 58th.

“Truly amazed at how fast the times were,” said coach Anna Geary. “It is very exciting to see that many ran fastest races tonight. I just feel so privileged to be a part of a team, a family that can come together for each other despite what each has going on in their own personal lives.”

The following athletes ran personal records (PRs) for the season: Kelsey, Laura, Erin, Anna, Alyssa, Megan, Claire, Madison, Jake Bear, Kyle Crowell, Alex, Ryan, Cameron, Joel, Zach, Josh Petrik, Jake Petrik, Seth, Scott, Cole and Sam.

“Some of these PRs were huge,” Geary added. “Many of these weren’t just season PRs, but lifetime PRs. Many of you were so super close to your PRs. This also should be applauded. It was a tough race for some with warmer temperatures. Coach Brouwer and I are so proud of all that has been accomplished this season.”

The North Branch girls and boys cross country teams will compete in the Section 7AA Championships at 2 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 25 at Princeton Golf Course, where the first and second place teams, as well as the top eight individuals who are not members of the first or second place teams, will advance to the state championships.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *