Chisago County voters choose new and incumbent leadership

The voting majority in Chisago County likely hoped for a different outcome in the U.S. presidency race, along with a few others, as evident by how they voted on election night.

Though true, Barack Obama and Joe Biden will be serving a second term, it was Republican challengers Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan who gained the support of most Chisago County voters by a count of 16,227 to 12,524 votes with all 23 precincts reporting.

The same was true of Chip Cravaack, the Republican incumbent who just conceded to Democrat Rick Nolan in the U.S. Representative District 8 contest. Despite the loss, he captured 15,033 votes to Nolan’s 13,223 from county voters.

On the two big constitutional questions on the ballot, the local majority also wanted the marriage and photo I.D. amendments to pass. The yes votes approached the 17,000 mark, while the no votes numbered around 12,500.

In the County Commissioner contests, the incumbents ruled as Lora Walker defeated Darrel Trulson 2,960 to 2,039 for the District 1 seat; George McMahon (3,648) won over Curt Flug (1,772) for District 3; and Mike Robinson’s 3,489 votes was too much for challenger Rick Smisson’s 1,509 in District 5.

The race for mayor in North Branch was indeed a close one as Ron Lindquist edged Kirsten Hagen Kennedy 2,219 to 2,159 votes.

Voters elected two candidates in the North Branch City Council contest. Joyce Borchardt was the top vote getter with 2,023 votes while incumbent Theresa Furman got the second most with 1,889 votes.

Rush City will soon welcome a new mayor as Dan Dahlberg captured 582 votes over incumbent Nancy Schroeder’s 329 votes.

In Stacy, voters chose to stay with Jim Ness and Cindy Bruss on the city council. The incumbents received 304 and 309 votes, respectively, while 216 votes went to Tony Olivolo.

With all 11 precincts reporting in the North Branch School Board race, incumbent Kim Salo and Linda Heidelberger were by far the top vote getters with 3,692 and 3,600, respectively. Next was Aaron Gibbons who captured 2,305 votes for the last available seat.

In legislative races, Chisago County voters chose:
• Democrat incumbent Amy Klobuchar over Republican Kurt Bills by a count of 16,758 to 10,371 in the U.S. Senate contest.
• GOP incumbent Sean Nienow over DFLer Jeske Noordergraaf 13,992-12,279 for State Senator Dist. 32
• Republican incumbent Bob Barret over Democrat Rick Olseen 10,644-10,251 for State Rep. Dist. 32B.
• Republican Brian Johnson over DFL opponent Paul Gammel by a margin of 161 votes in the State Rep. District 32A contest.

— The numbers above reflect only Chisago County election results, which are unofficial until canvassed by each governing body.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *