NB Wrestling ends Team season in Section quarterfinals

The No. 3 section south seeded North Branch wrestling team ended its season as a team when it lost 27-25 to No. 2 seed Milaca/Faith Christian in the Section 7AA Team Championship quarterfinals at North Branch High School Tuesday, Feb. 12. The Vikings defeated No. 6 south seed Rush City/Braham 62-18 in the preliminaries. The North Branch wrestlers will compete in the Section 7AA Individual Wrestling Championships at Hibbing High School at 1 p.m. Friday, Feb. 22 and 11 a.m. Saturday, Feb. 23. The top two individuals in each weight class will qualify to advance to the State Individual Championships to be held at Xcel Energy Center Friday, March 1 and Saturday, March 2. Check back for section updates and brackets.

vs. RC/B

106: Kody Strohmayer (NB) over Dylan Martin (RCB) Pin 4:29
113: Tucker Liegland (RCB) over James Weigel (NB) Pin 2:56
120: Tyler Sitz (RCB) over Thomas Steele (NB) Pin 1:10
126: Reid Johnson (NB) over Francis Loerzel (RCB) Pin 1:15
132: Alex Fitcha (NB) over Bryce Lanhart (RCB) Pin 3:25
138: Jake Pilz (NB) over Brian Nelson (RCB) Pin 1:21
145: Cameron Sampson (NB) over James Kelling (RCB) TF 15-0
152: Arik Steele (NB) over Zack Johnson (RCB) Pin 1:52
160: Zach John (NB) over Blaine Blazek (RCB) Pin 1:54
170: Tristan LaBelle (NB) over Dominic Montgomery (RCB) Dec 11-6
182: Isaiah Johnson (RCB) over Levi Eastwood (NB) Pin 3:28
195: Zack Sundly (NB) over Chase Grant (RCB) Pin 1:43
220: Eric Bergstrom (NB) over Jacob Lynch (RCB) Pin 4:38
285: Seamus Hunter (NB) over Zack Dean (RCB) Pin 0:54

vs. Milaca
106 Kody Strohmayer NB by decision over Jonathan Hall MIL 8-6
113 Ray Hoffman MIL by pin over James Weigel NB 3:00
120 Hunter Noor MIL by decision over Thomas Steele NB 4-1
126 Reid Johnson NB by decision over Mike Hoffman MIL  5-2
132 Joey Curtis MIL by pin over Alex Fitcha NB 1:22
138 Cameron Sampson NB by decision over Dru Kuchenbaker MIL 5-3
145 Jake Pilz NB by decision over Jack Barsody MIL 8-6

152 Aaron Moscho MIL by pin over Fletcher John NB, 0:58
160 Josh Otten, MIL by decision over Tristan Labelle NB 2-0
170 Sam Peltier NB by decision over Jorgen Erickson, MIL 4-0
182 Austin Weidner MIL by decision over Levi Eastwood NB 6-2
195 Zack Sundly NB by decision over Colton Sailor, MIL 5-2
220 Eric Bergstrom NB by major decision over Zach Peterson MIL 9-1
285 Seamus Hunter NB by decision over Brandon Merten MIL 4-2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *