NB Lions honored for service (slideshow)

The North Branch Lions held its annual Governor’s Night, with a dinner and awards, on March 12 at the Legion Hall in North Branch.

The head table consisted of 5M7 1st Vice District Governor-Elect Lion Terry Wold; Lion Shirley Klein, partner of the district governor; District Governor Lion Paul Hanson; Lion Cindy Hagen, zone chair; Lion Barb Kelzenberg and District Governor-Elect Lion Norm Kelzenberg.

Former Post Review editor MaryHelen Swanson was presented with the North Branch Lions 2013 Community Service Award. Click here for the story.

The Lion of the Year honor went to Alex Bates, and fellow NB Lion Steve Slaughter received the Outstanding Service Award.

Accepting the Special Appreciation Award were Lions Don Nelson and Jaymie Johnson. Honored with the President’s Appreciation Award were NB Lions Don Hartzell, Syl Marking, John Dolin and Alex Bates.

Hartzell also was recognized for being a member of the North Branch Lions for 40 years, and Shannon Stepp for his 30 years of membership.

Leading the event and presenting the awards was North Branch Lions President Chris Thoma, assisted by District Governor Lion Paul Hanson.

Near the conclusion of the banquet, new members were inducted into the club. They include Dave Bjerga, sponsored by Lion Syl Marking; Brian Wirzfield, sponsored by Lion Bob Olsen; and Scott Johnson, who was sponsored by Lion Alex Bates.

— Photos in slideshow above by Jon Tatting

up arrow
Don't Miss A Thing!

Our news stories are now available through email. Simply enter your email address below and click “Subscribe” to see the new stories every day.