RC boys basketball awards 2012-13

The Rush City boys basketball team had its annual awards banquet March 25, and the following awards were presented:

Great River Conference Awards


Garret Pearson (senior)

Brandon Koehnle (junior)

All-Conference Honorable Mention

Matt Mallinger (senior)

Great River Conference Most Valuable Player

Garret Pearson

Team awards 

(voted on by team)

Offensive Player 

of the Year

Garret Pearson

Defensive Player 

of the Year

Brandon Koehnle

Most Valuable Player

Garret Pearson

Most Improved Player

Alex Enns (senior)

Most Dedicated Player (decided by coaches)

Zach Melin (sophomore)



Captains for the 

2013-14 season

Brandon Koehnle

Ryan Lind (junior)

In light of the award winners and in reflection of the 2012-13 season, head coach Jeremy Albright shared:

“Congratulations to those that won team awards. No one knows more than their teammates how hard these kids have worked at their game in practice and in the off-season. Also, congratulations to Garret Pearson and Brandon Koehnle for being selected to the Great River Conference All-Conference Team, as well as Matt Mallinger for being selected as an Honorable Mention. These awards are voted on by the conference coaches, so it’s nice to see the teams we compete with recognize these players as well.

“Garret Pearson also was selected as the Great River Conference Most Valuable Player. No one knows more than I do about how hard he has worked and how far he had to come from missing the entire season last year due to injury.

“We finished the season with a 13-10 overall record, including an 11-5 finish in the conference and third place all by ourselves. I am proud of all these athletes for bringing us back from being under .500 the past two seasons.

“Our returning players have a challenge ahead of them. We graduate 72 percent of our scoring and 73 percent of our rebounding. Who is going to step up and take that challenge on? The answer will be determined by off-season work and dedication.

“Thanks once again to our graduating seniors for everything they have done — Dalton Folkema, Max Maher, Jesse Rasmussen, Alex Enns, Matt Mallinger, Garret Pearson and Jenny Tryon (stats). Good luck in the future.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *